When the Stressful Situation Occurs…..

In a recent post I discussed ways to prepare for a stressful situation. Unfortunately, as much as we wish it would, all the preparation in the world does not always prevent the situation from occurring. While stressful situations cause anxiety for everyone, for those of us with an anxiety disorder, the situations can be especially intense. For us, when the situation kicks our body into the “flight or flee” mode—our brain takes off. Meaning, our brains over estimate the danger or don’t realize when the danger passes, taking us into a higher state of intensity for a longer period of time. I think this just means I don’t do things half way right? : )

Part of therapy and treatment is training your brain to realize that the “lion” you think walked into the room, is actually that crazy kid from next door dressed up in a costume. Then realize you can relax because the danger has passed.  There’s several of techniques you can use to help your body relax, but one tool involves changing some of your thoughts. It can be crazy hard to think of the “right” things to say to yourself in a stressful situation. If your brain is anything like mine is basically running around screaming “AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH”

So for moments like that, here is the second part of the worksheet I shared in “Preparing for Stressful Situations”. Post these affirmations somewhere you can see them during the stressful situation.

  1. I can deal with this stressor as a challenge
  2. I don’t have to become overwhelmed. I can deal with the situation one step at a time.
  3. Take a deep breath and relax.
  4. Don’t think about being upset. Focus on what I have to do.
  5. Being tense is not bad, it is a cue that I need to do something.
  6. If one strategy doesn’t work I can switch to another.
  7. Remember, I will get through this.

Now, you might choose to be discreet where you post these—for example, on your boss’s door (even if they are the cause of your stress!) is not the best idea!  But I hope they help.

Anyone else have some good positive affirmations to get you through a stressful situation?

Hope these statements either prevent you from going crazy or bring you back soon!

Hope these statements either prevent you from going crazy or bring you back soon!

5 thoughts on “When the Stressful Situation Occurs…..

  1. I am not one for affirmations, although I am starting to find they are useful. These are good ones and not the usual platitudes =)

    Thanks Nicole

    • Nicole says:

      I’m with you on the affirmations…I’ve found them to be helpful in some circumstances but not my favorite tool. For me, these are more of “thought replacements”. For example, when I’m stressed my brain is usually saying “You’re a failure because you’re stressed” or “The stress shows you can’t do this” so I can replace that with “Stress tell me something needs to be done”. Don’t know if that makes sense….

  2. sakuraandme says:

    You are a strong willed independent woman!! One of my followers just gave this one and I loved it! Your post is written beautifully and those of us that have this disorder,I’m sure can relate to everything you’ve said! Not many sleeps to you know who comes!! *laughing*
    I hope when he’s checking his list.. he finds out Nicole’s being nice and not naughty! Lol xxxxxxx Ho Ho Ho!! x

What's your thoughts?

