Dad…Pilot…USAF Col…Medication Nazi….

It takes all types of people to make a successful support team. I think I have mentioned before that my dad is a retired Air Force colonel. So as you can imagine he is not the “emotional breakdown” support team member. However, I am incredibly thankful to have in my life because he is the person I would credit most with my medication compliance.

His favorite costume...guess you can see where I got my weird side of my personality!

His favorite costume…guess you can see where I got my weird side of my personality!

I’ll never forget the first day of my first mental illness medication. I had been refusing each time my mom had tried to get me to take it for several hours. So later that night, I had some friends over and went out to the garage to get an “adult beverage”. I grabbed the drink and turned back around to head back inside and BAM! ran smack into my dad…..holing (drum roll now) the dreaded box of pills. Guess that military trains g wasn’t for nothing because after stealthily sneaking up on me he had strategically placed himself between me and the house. Using the element of surprise he removed the drink from my hand. Well Damn. Looking around and realizing there was no way out I used my next weapon, confusion.

Nicole: [wide eyed and innocent] Hi daddy! What are you doing? Would you like a Miller Lite–here let me get you one.
Dad: [hold out single, deception-ally harmless, white pill] I’m not letting you back inside till you take it.
Nicole: [Plant feet, lift chin]
Dad:  You’re friends are going to wonder what took you so long.

And checkmate…well played dad, well played.

And so, I took my first lexapro with a raspberry flavored Smirnoff   Not exactly what the doctor recommended  but it did the trick.

Resistance to medication is so common, and we fight it for so many individual reasons. The largest feeling I remember preventing me from taking it was fear. I was terrified what it was going to do. If it could affect my brain and my emotions positively….it could be just as negative.  I had heard the horror stories about what anti-depressants can do! I spent the first couple of weeks obsessing about it forever altering my brain and me going crazier than I already was. Symptoms of anxiety include catastrophic and obsessive thinking–I sure applied that to my medication!

I’m not going to lie and say those thoughts don’t still plague me from time to time. There are mornings when I stare at my medication for a few minutes trying to remind myself that it’s suppose to help me. There are times where random thoughts of it sabotaging my brain pop into my mind. And it has been a factor in a few of my medication “protests” (Like “hunger protests”…but with medication).

If you have the same problem, or are the medication Nazi on a support team, here are a few things that Rick did to help me manage this fear.

  1. Identify the truth: Specifically address the fears with your doctor. I trust my psychiatrist and I have specific memories of her describing numerous studies that show no long term effects. Have your team provide you with these studies….leading to my next point.
  2. AVOID THE INTERNET and even some books/magazines: The horror stories are out there–you HAVE to avoid them. I have never researched a new medication. I trust my sister and my mom to do that. No way would I take any medications if I read some of the scary stuff out there.
  3. Journal: Track how the medication makes you feel–that way you’ll be confident that if it’s “destroying your brain” you’ll notice. And if it’s helping, then you can see that too!

I’m so lucky to have such a wide variety of people on my support team–I owe a significant amount to my dad getting me to take that medication.  I hate to admit it, but it does make a huge difference in my life. and like in everything in his life, my dad illustrated the three core values of the Air Force.

  • Integrity first: While the blackmail and threats were questionable, he didn’t sneak it in my food!
  • Service before Self: Made me take it BEFORE getting himself a beer…clearly a sacrifice
  • Excellence in all you do: He succeeded right?

Tagged , , ,

25 thoughts on “Dad…Pilot…USAF Col…Medication Nazi….

  1. Ugh. Starting on meds was the worst. I knew I needed help more than my therapist could offer, but I still held on to the prescription for a week before filling it for the first time, and then held on to the bottle for another week before taking the first dose! I try to keep focused on the fact I don’t hesitate to put on my glasses to make my eyes work typically…. so why do I hesitate so in taking my meds, which help to make my brain work typically?!

    • Nicole says:

      I know!!! Love that you used the glasses comment–I’ve had that repeated to me so many times. But you’re totally right. I’ve never been ashamed to put on my glasses (other than when I was younger and was afraid my current crush wouldn’t like me anymore!)

  2. sakuraandme says:

    Hi Nicole! *waving* I can’t stop laughing! made you take it before getting him a beer! Lol
    I’m like everyone else that has Bipolar…Hate taking medication! *smiling* but at the end of the day we know it quietens everything down. Part of me thinks this is why I don’t like it! The crazy zany funny happy go lucky me gets quietened down. *laughing* this is good and bad!
    Like last night ,I sooo didn’t want to take my Seroquel as I’m in the middle of putting Christmas stuff up and the child with in was overly excited, and didn’t want to go to sleep.
    I hate to take double my meds just to calm myself and go to sleep! *bugger* makes me wake up really drowsy! ………Paula x

    • Nicole says:

      I feel you! There are lots of times when I like some of the symptoms of mania—I can be pretty over the top entertaining during it. Couldn’t the meds just take away the negative sides! haha Thanks for sharing-I think I’m going to do a few posts on why we don’t like to take medication and this might have to be my next one!

      • sakuraandme says:

        Hi! Just quickly, I don’t like taking mine as It squashes my other personality. (BPD) The out of control, crazy funny, will put up with NO crap Paula, gets squished!
        Bad but true!! :):) xxx

  3. sakuraandme says:

    Whoops, I mean’t had!! *laughing* xx

  4. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this onto a friend who has been doing a little research on this.
    And he actually ordered me breakfast due to the
    fact that I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this.
    … Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx
    for spending the time to discuss this issue here on your website.

  5. This web site definitely has all the information and facts I wanted concerning this subject
    and didn’t know who to ask.

  6. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about debt consolidation
    software. Regards

  7. Karen says:

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle
    for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  8. What’s up to every one, it’s actually a pleasant for me to go to see this site, it consists of valuable Information.

  9. Its such as you read my mind! You seem to understand so much approximately this, like you wrote the guide in it or something.
    I think that you just could do with some % to power the message home
    a bit, but other than that, this is great blog.
    A great read. I will certainly be back.

  10. What i don’t realize is actually how you are now not really a lot more well-favored than you might be now. You are very intelligent. You recognize thus considerably in relation to this subject, made me individually believe it from so many varied angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be
    interested except it is something to accomplish with Girl
    gaga! Your individual stuffs great. At all times deal with it up!

  11. Definitely imagine that which you said. Your favourite reason appeared to be at the internet the simplest thing to be mindful of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed whilst
    other folks consider concerns that they plainly do not
    know about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the
    entire thing with no need side-effects , other people can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  12. You could definitely see your enthusiasm in the work
    you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid
    to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  13. homepage says:

    Great post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I am inspired!
    Extremely helpful info specially the remaining part :
    ) I deal with such information much. I used to be
    looking for this certain info for a very lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

  14. Excellent post however I was wanting to know if you
    could write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Many thanks!

  15. homepage says:

    It’s genuinely very difficult in this full of activity life to listen news on TV, so I only use internet for that purpose, and obtain the hottest news.

  16. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on www airtrans com. Regards

  17. Very good article. I will be experiencing some of these issues as well.
    .

  18. Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Spending some
    time and actual effort to create a superb article… but what can I
    say… I procrastinate a lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

  19. Blogging says:

    Have you ever wondered what the origin of the word “blog” is.
    Now if you promote these type products off a blog you can easily increase
    your income based upon the advantages blogging
    sites offer as marketing platforms. ML: You have an upcoming book titled
    “The Fat Burn Revolution.

  20. Dennis says:

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues?
    A number of my blog visitors have complained about my site not
    operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

  21. Truly when someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other viewers that they will assist, so here
    it happens.

  22. Remarkable! Its genuinely amazing paragraph, I have got
    much clear idea on the topic of from this paragraph.

What's your thoughts?

